Friday, November 26, 2010

Fable III Review

Unless this review is your first ever experience with the Xbox platform, you would have heard of the revolutionary series named Fable. Back when the Xbox launched an unknown title by Lionhead Studios changed the way games were positioned forever. Instead of having the story determined by the developers perspective, Fable turned the responsibilities onto the player as they chose whether the hero of the game would be good or evil. What you did affected your appearance and even the way people reacted to your presence. It was an excellent addition to mix up what would have been a dry RPG. Fable II was 500 years after the original and Fable III is a further 50 years into the future, placing the game into the industrial era. This timeframe has brought some improvements and failures, in both Albion and the actual game itself.


The game has been criticised in the past for rarely having any graphical improvements since the original game on the Xbox. Not much has changed again for Fable III, but the small improvements such as better shading and textures has finally brought Fable into the 360 generation. Albion is a grimy and shady land compared to previous versions. Even the once bustling Bowerstone region has fallen to the Industrial rule of Reaver Industries, creating a damp and uninviting area. It is amazing how much has changed in only 50 years for Albion. Gone are the small towns of Oakfield and Bloodstone as new towns such as Brightwall and Aurora has surfaced in this time period.

In Fable II it was a common thing to see technical glitches scattered throughout the game. If you slowly walk up stairs it is obvious that your character was not in complete with the environment. Thankfully I found Fable III to address many of these small problems, making the world a more fulfilling adventure the third time around. Some problems still exist, pretty woeful synchronisation between voice and the moving of the mouth is the main problem. None of the glitches will hinder the enjoyment of the game however.

The hero of Fable has traditionally been silent with absolutely no lines in the game. Other characters in the game have always uttered random opinions of you as the hero struts by and main characters of course had big roles to play. This entire concept that has been intact for two installments has been finally thrown out as your quest to be king has been raised. To be a king you need to know how to communicate with the citizens of Albion. While the hero isn't a complete chatterbox, it is a very nice addition to finally communicate with others in more than simple actions.

The various characters that has a part in missions or the main storyline are superbly cast and some of the biggest names from the UK have parts in the game. The game is based in an English area and the excellent choice of cast has really made the game unique. The hilarious missions and people you need to help along your adventure really set the theme as a more lighthearted game than other RPG's. One of the best voice actors in the game is the heralded Stephen Fry as Reaver, the evil owner of Reaver Industries who ends up being under your command. His dark tone suggests a hint of evil throughout the entire game, but in particular the second half as a ruler. Overall, this presentation of Fable III has been improved in small ways to make a big difference to the general experience received from Albion.


Fable and Fable II's story focused around becoming a hero to avenge the death of a close family member, while at the same time Albion was saved also. Thankfully only so many revenge tales can happen in this land. The Hero from Fable II had two children, Logan who eventually becomes the tyrant king of Albion and yourself. Logan is a harsh ruler who is bringing Albion into disrepair and with the help of your trainer Walter, you must overthrow his reign to save Albion. The job is not possible by yourself, followers need to be recruited in order to have enough power to overthrow your brother. After becoming king in most games, that would be the end of the main story, but not in Fable III. It is only halfway. You are told of a great disaster that is only a year off destroying all of Albion and must then make decisions to prepare the continent for this upcoming threat.

Previous titles have all had a focus on being good or evil, but Fable III takes it to a more intense level. Within 5 minutes you have a tough decision to make and the decisions as king are some of the hardest I have ever faced in a game. In the earlier games I went into the game knowing whether I wanted to be a good or evil hero, but the second half of the game really tests your morals as you struggle to do whats right for Albion in the short or long run. The first half of the game is all about being a good hero (You are overthrowing your evil brother afterall), but thankfully the massive twist rekindled my fascination with this game.

Lionhead Studios have never wanted Fable to be a serious RPG full of confusing levelling systems and countless hours of boosting to be successful at the game. The steps made in Fable III reassure the stance from the previous titles, but have they taken it too far? Albion is officially a menuless adventure with the new interactive Sanctuary housing your map, weapons, money and stats while the Road of Rule incorporated into the story becomes the new levelling system. These were both questionable changes but after playing through the game I now value what they have done, making the game more involved throughout all levels. To appeal to casual fans they have now made the game easier than the already incredibly easy Fable II. Gone are health bars as the regenerating energy from every FPS has made it's way into the story. You can't die, instead being knocked out and receiving some battle scars. The problem is, even someone who is fairly new to RPG's can get through the entire game without being knocked out, once. If they are going to have this kiddie level of gaming, at least put in a hardcore mode for people who like a challenge. Even the ruling section where you have a year to complete everything to save Albion, the time doesn't count down unless you complete the objectives. Why not add in a mode where you will actually have to race the clock to complete everything?

What the game lacks in difficulty it certainly makes up for with laughs. The people you meet along your adventure are hilarious and some of the idiotic challenges they wish you to do will make you laugh. The entire story was engaging and all the main quests had a reason to complete them, something that lacks in a majority of RPG's. The story of the Hero is one that takes many twists and turns, even if it isn't the longest game of all time. Rushing through the main story, you could probably wrap up the entire game in under 10 hours. The beauty of Albion is that you want to spend time hunting the entire continent for keys and quests, not streamlined doing the main story. If you think you have had enough, why not join another friends or complete strangers world and help or hinder their progress.


Fable III makes some improvements on past games, while also going backwards in some areas. The positives of this game outweigh the negatives however. Albion is a more spectacular area that really unleashes the true potential of this series. Fable has been thrust at casual gamers, and these such players will have an absolute ball playing. Hardcore gamers may feel left out with the easy nature of Fable III, but if you can accept the fact that it will be easy, then the many secrets of Albion will reward the players that pursue their adventure.

The choice of good or evil has never been greater in Fable III, where your decisions will really have an effect on the world around you. For the first time you don't only have to think about the consequences for yourself, but also for the citizens of Albion. Without giving anything away, this game is going to test your morals even though it won't necessarily test your Hero's combat skills. As long as you are prepared for an easy game, you should have an absolute ball playing Fable III.

Graphics - 7.5/10
Sound - 9.5/10
Gameplay - 8/10
Overall - 8/10

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Halo: Reach Review

Halo is the name that defines the Xbox. Whenever I get in an argument over Microsoft vs Sony I know I can bring out the Halo brand and I automatically win. This iconic series is seeing the last installment by the masterminds behind Halo, Bungie. As they move onto a new project with Activision, we are left with one final goodbye which ironically is the beginning of the story. Everything Bungie has learnt in the last 10 years is rolled into one complete package that is the best Halo game to date.

The story of the Noble team is one full of courage, sorrow and victory as they fight to save Human's existence on the planet Reach from the evil Covenant. This game is perfect for everyone as the story is a standalone episode that doesn't require any background knowledge. Halo fans of old will enjoy the hints to the story of Master Chief, as well as a special (but short) appearance during the game. Some much needed upgrades to the series have been added to keep both the campaign and multiplayer at a level that looks respectable with Call of Duty providing more depth than Halo in the past. It is a shame to see Bungie leave on such a good know because we know the talent and skill won't be shovelled into this iconic series. Halo: Reach is simply put, the best Halo yet.


Reach is a beautiful world that has sadly been overrun by the Covenant. Previous Halo games have been based in bland settings, but Reach takes us to the lush and stunning locations around the world. Huge draw distances and breath taking environments, not to mention the brilliant view from space, makes for one of the best looking games on the Xbox 360.

One of the strongest areas in the Halo series are the cutscenes which define the story and present some background information on the characters. The scenes in Reach are engaging and look great. Perfect casting for the voice roles really sets you up in Noble team knowing who will be friendly and those in the group that aren't as inviting.

Simply put, this is the best looking Halo game of the lot. Slick animations and the brilliant graphics have finally brought Halo into 2010. Areas that have been lacking compared to other similar shooters have been fixed; expect yourself to be amazed by how beautiful Reach is the first time you play through it. I literally can't think of anything to describe how wonderful Planet Reach is. Noble 6's adventure is really something that has to be experienced by yourself to truly value the extent of work put into this title.

The sound and voice acting is spot on. As I said before your Noble team has been perfectly cast and as with all Halo games, the soundtrack perfectly sets the tone for each and every part of the game. Those quiet stealth sections are completely silent except for the sound of your footsteps while big action scenes greet you head on with edgy music. Halo 3: ODST was the best ever game I have played at creating suspense. Halo Reach isn't right up at ODST's standard, but it does a very decent job at separating every part of the game.


If there was one thing that turned me off previous Halo games, it was the blatant reusing of areas. It got so bad in the original Halo I actually couldn't bring myself to finish a level. Thankfully Bungie has done away with any reuse, making Reach in my eyes, automatically the best Halo campaign. Within a limited number of missions the aim was to show of all the beauty of Reach as possible, I feel like they achieved their goal.

For the majority of Reach it is just as you would expect. Shooting the Covenant is in, as well as dieing multiple times trying to figure out how to strategically take out all your foes. The difficulty has spiked up considerably from previous versions to present a new challenge to seasoned players, but remains fairly easy for first timers in lower difficulties. Can't win by yourself on Legendary? This time instead of grabbing 3 mates to easily breeze through, the difficulty now increases everytime another player is added into the mix. This is an excellent move that provides even more fun.

The Reach campaign is a tonne of fun as you blast hundreds of Grunts out of the way, only to be slashed by a sneaky Elite who has managed to get behind you. As I'm sure you are aware, Halo goes into space as you fight to control a space station high above Reach. This new aspect of the Halo series is downright awesome, while probably being the easiest level in the game. The environments are continually changing, as are how you are fighting the Covenant. One minute you'll be with the entire Noble team on foot; next you will be a gunner on a chopper blasting unsuspecting foes below. Action packed isn't the right word to describe the campaign. The game does put you in some intense stealth areas that constantly have you on the lookout. The mix of areas fits well together, creating a near perfect campaign.

Topping off the campaign is... special abilities! Finally this allows us to sprint in Halo, something that has always been lacking, especially in multiplayer. The new abilities option allows you to choose one ability and have limited use of it using the LB button. They range from sprinting to a jetpack, armour lock-up and active camo. These bring a new level of strategy not only to the campaign, but the extensive multiplayer mode as well.

Multiplayer has been largely improved since Halo 3. While I wouldn't put it ahead of Modern Warfare 2's, it is certainly one of the best I've ever used. Firefight has made a comeback after it's debut in ODST. A complete overhaul has been made, making the original look like more of a beta version. The game is now completely customizable right down to the performance of certain enemies. Firefight matchmaking is also back and is heaps of fun once again. A new points system is in place, giving you something to aim for when playing multiplayer. Credits are earned that lets you buy new armour to personalize Noble 6. These changes are reflected in multiplayer and even the campaign, which is really cool. Earning x amount of credits lets you level up, unlocking more armour to buy. Abilities add a new twist and a voting system prevents those maps you hate from randomly being chosen by the system.


Halo Reach is the definitive title that defines what Bungie has been aiming to achieve since 2001. All of that passion has been channeled into Reach, creating the ideal game to say goodbye with. A story full of tragedy and despair makes way for what we know as the 'Master Chief era'. The superb multiplayer just sums up what this game was about, making everything bigger and better while keeping what works. I can hardly fault Reach and rarely a game does this. The highs and lows of the campaign will keep you glued to the TV until it has been finished, multiple times.

This is by far the best title in the series, something that shouldn't be missed. A majority of people who own a Xbox would claim they have played a Halo game. Everyone should be proud to say they own a copy of Halo: Reach, it is that damn good. As we say farewell to Bungie's involvement in the Halo series, it leaves us to wonder what is around the corner. A must own game. period.

Graphics - 9.5/10
Sound - 10/10
Gameplay - 10/10
Overall - 9.5/10

Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Assassin's Creed II Review

When Ubisoft first brought out Assassin's Creed I was very excited. The chance to be a true assassin, not one of the modern day gun slingers we now control all too often, was enticing. The original showed a lot of potential but some problems and tedious missions held Altair back from being the centre piece of an outstanding game. Now when IGN makes a big statement, I pay attention. They named Assassin's Creed II the Xbox 360 2009 Game of the Year. In a year that also included the release of Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2, this was a big call from the IGN staff. The thing is though, they are probably right because Assassin's Creed II would be close to my favourite game on the 360.

Everything that wasn't perfect in the original was perfected in the sequel. Those annoying missions that were littered throughout Assassin's Creed were scrapped. The graphics look a lot better and the level of detail in the massive cities really blew me away. The storyline has more meaning and goes deeper into your own soul to make you want to play this game. Controls are improved and free running from building to building is now smoother than before. Assassin's Creed II is almost the complete package apart from a few small gripes and lack of online play, something that will be changed when the second addition to this story, Assassin's Creed Brotherhood, is released later this year. Don't bother waiting though because this title is needed to understand the story of Brotherhood as it follows on from where Assassin's Creed II finishes off.


This game is a solid title that is only verified by the excellent Renaissance style graphics. I am impressed how smooth the animations are especially when you have Ezio leaping across buildings or even running through the city with guards chasing after you. I never encountered any slow downs or lag during the game.

There are many different cities that you have the chance to travel to in your journey. Each city has a distinctive colour theme to make it unique and in the larger cities different areas distinquish themselves from others. One example is in Venice that one area is a big Masquerade area and for part of the game you must wear a mask and the place is covered with banners. Visit the villagers who live around the main cities and you will find some appaling areas such as swamps that feature water damaged buildings and smaller populations.

All buildings needed one feature that allows them to work in this game. Everything is climbable and this has forced buildings to all look similar in build. The different areas and colours mix it up a bit and do a good job at disguising the repetition. Buildings do have some unique features or design that let you tell them apart. Some larger structures are also historical landmarks that have made an appearance in this game.

The cities are full of life and the animations are just spectacular. From small details such as the way your cape reacts when climbing towers to big ones like how the villagers react to a dead body; Ubisoft have perfected it all. Cut scenes have also been greatly improved over Assassin's Creed, continuing with the high level presentation in the rest of the game. Every character looks great and all important characters are unique. Sadly this can't be said for your ordinary citizen, but it is only a small gripe.

The voice acting is top class in Assassin's Creed II with every character sounding like they have a true accent instead of some American poorly putting one on. Everyone fits into the setting and it really adds to the reality of the whole experience. The Renaissance themed music also creates a wonderful atmosphere and added sound effects such as when you are noticed by guards works perfectly. Not many games can from different eras can pull off the sound from the time and place; Assassin's Creed II is one of the games that can.


Assassin's Creed II is an engaging game that will have you interested in the story from the beginning chapter right up until the huge twist at the end. Ezio Auditore de Firenze is a likeable character and his motivation to avenge his family makes it clear in the beginning that you are the good guy here. This game follows on from the original as you escape from Abstergo Industries and find refuge in an abandoned warehouse. Yes, for all you newcomers be aware that you are actually a person called Desmond and a whole different story plot is linking Altair's and Ezio's lives together. The Assassin's Creed series probably has the strongest multi-game storyline of any game I have ever played and allows for multiple adventures until Desmond figures out the mystery behind the Assassin's and Templar.

We follow Ezio's life through the Animus from birth until we leave him at the end of the story (Part 1). The luxury of the Animus however is that we only replay the important parts of his 15th century life. Ezio's story is one full of twists and turns and I really don't want to ruin any of it for you. Just let me say that you will feel a real connection between Ezio and yourself by the end of the game. The game is split up into the free roaming of the city as you explore every nook and cranny, as well as the main missions that you complete to help you track down your fathers killer.

Gone are the days of tedious eavesdropping missions as we say hello to variety for each and every seciton of the game. Missions range from stalking an enemy, infiltrating heavily guarded areas and assassinating your target, having an old sword fight with guards and flying through Venice with a pair of wings. It takes approximately 18 hours to finish the game and not once did I find myself bored with having to climb buildings before jumping down and killing two guards at once. Optional extras such as finding tombs to unlock ancient armour brings a taste of Prince of Persia as these sections require Ezio to use his speed and leap to climb the tallest buildings in the game.. from the inside!

Another nice feature is the ability to buy and upgrade your look and weapons as well as owning your very own castle, complete with small community to rule. Upgrading your castle gives you more income and improves the wealth and perks received from your people. This adds a personal dimension to the game and stores were lacking from the original.


There is quite literally hundreds of things to do and discover in Assassin's Creed II. The huge cities are packed with feathers and people to help and being the local friendly Assassin does not get old. The only thing missing is some sort of multiplayer or incentive to continue once you have 100% completed the game like I have. The story is so good that Ubisoft basically has another $60 in their pockets once you finish the final sequence.

What was a nice game has been turned into a Triple A title with this outstanding sequel. Assassin's Creed II has built on the solid foundations of the original and has delivered one of the best games I have ever played. I found it tough to eject Assassin's Creed II until I had finished the game completely. If you found the original tedious, this will solve all your problems. Newcomers can pick up the game here and quickly catch onto the story as it is explained to you all over again. You can't possibly miss the chance to play this game. You won't regret it.

Graphics - 9.5/10
Sound - 9/10
Gameplay - 10/10
Overall - 9.5/10

Sunday, August 29, 2010

Deadliest Warrior Review

Deadliest Warrior is a nice little Xbox Live Arcade title that looks like a cheap Street Fighter alternative, but that can't be further away from the truth. Strategy is thrown out the window and is replaced with the serious urge to cut off the other competitors arms before they do the same to you. This game is all about the blood and gore as you shock anyone within view of the TV screen as you throw an arrow in between your opponents eyes. This isn't a serious game, it is all about having some true arcade fun in a challenging environment.

Deadliest Warrior is based off a TV series of the same name which is all about battles between famous names from history. If these battles actually happened you could just imagine how gruesome they would be and in a way Pipeworks Software has recreated what would unfold. I love this game because it is excellent for a laugh and losing doesn't seem like a big deal.


For an Arcade title Deadliest Warrior doesn't look too bad to be honest. While there isn't anything that will blow you away, the characters and arenas look quite good and I would put them on par with original Xbox titles. The real standout are the unique characters and the many ways that they can be decapitated. You can literally see limbs fall off injured opponents and blood splurt out, which might sound over the top but really makes this game so good. Each character has their own arena to fight in and they are all unique and feature different layouts. Since there aren't many different locations they have been able to keep the game looking pretty good.

The animations manage to stay at a smooth level throughout the entire game. This is very handy seeing how this game is 70% eye candy. I didn't encounter any lag during my playing time and the overall design of the game is at a high level. There isn't much in the way of sound, but it does set the scene and gives a sense of danger when you begin the fight. It's your basic fighting music and isn't anything to write home about.


There are 8 fighters to choose from. They are a Viking, Apache, Centurion, Knight, Ninja, Pirate, Spartan and Samurai. Each one has different weapons that they can use and more can be won by winning mini games during the arcade mode. They have a melee weapon that will take the bulk of the fighting and ranged weapons which can be thrown or shot at your opponent to hopefully impale them in one go. Different outfits are also available by winning the arcade mode. All the weapons are unique to the fighter and all weapons and fighters have unique speed and power stats. No fighter is a standout dominator and you will find yourself picking a character to fight with based on their weapons or looks rather than stats.

All characters are available to play with at the beginning. I am a bit annoyed that they don't unlock as you go along, just to give you a bit more incentive to continue repeating the arcade more until they are all unlocked. There are two main modes to play, one online and another offline. The offline mode is called arcade and is the main part of the game. I was quite disappointed with how it is set out. You play through with a single character until you defeat all 8 fighters in a best of 3 set-up. It is the classic way to play fighting games, but I was hoping for a bit of initiative and a newer way to play. We do get this in survival mode, but I guess people do like the arcade mode so why throw it away? The online mode just matches you up with either your Live friends or people around the world. A small warning: Unless you are very good at Deadliest Warrior expect to get decapitated early and often. All matches last 60 seconds but the decapitating theme of the game means that it's highly unlikely that you are both alive at the end of the minute.

It all sounds alright but what is the game actually like. I have heard the game being labelled as not taking itself seriously and that is just about on the money. They have just avoided everything that makes Street Fighter a serious fighter and gone for something fun and quick to play. The interesting concept is the decision to let fighters fall apart as they are hacked and slashed to pieces. While it may shock some other people, I love the direction in which Deadliest Warrior has taken. While the controls may take some use to mastering, especially how to decapitate body parts, it is very rewarding when you figure out how to do so.

There isn't much in way of tutorials so I found that I had to work most things out by myself. The achievements in this game are also very fun to earn and focus on performing cool moves instead of just playing through the game. And after all, this is only a $10 so you are getting quite a bit for your money.


I went into playing Deadliest Warrior not knowing what to really expect from it. I was happily surprised to find out that this is a very fun game. While it doesn't have all that much depth to it, I can see myself playing for hours to come because the awesome way to kill (or be killed) by other fighters is down right exciting. I haven't played any other fighting game that has taken it to these extremes and now I wish they had.

Deadliest Warrior is an excellent Xbox Live Arcade title that will be a blast for casual fighters and hardcore fans alike. While it isn't Street Fighter, it doesn't try to be and that is what makes it such a blast to play.

Graphics - 6/10
Sound - 5/10
Gameplay - 8.5/10
Overall - 7.5/10

Monday, July 26, 2010

Crackdown 2 Review

What a deal we experienced all those years ago. Get the Halo 3 beta and a free game is yours! What wasn't expected was just how much fun this game was. Crackdown 2 is Real Time World's long awaited sequel, but no we don't get to test out Halo 4 with this game.

Don't expect anything revolutionary in Crackdown 2, the process that made this game great is almost identical. Apart from minor improvements this is still the same game, same graphics and sandbox fun. What does this mean for players of the original? If you were sick of the orb collecting gameplay or found it a bit bland, you will also find this game bland. On the upside, fans of the original should absolutely crave another trip back to Pacific City.

For those who have never played Crackdown, this is a sandbox game that is all about exploration with minimal story thrown in to keep you ticking along. There are objectives to complete in the game, but levelling up your super agent by fighting, driving and orb collecting your way through this huge city is the main attraction. While Rockstar is going for a real experience in the Grand Theft Auto experience, Real Time World is sprinting in the opposite direction with your main character. From the word go your agent has the ability to jump high into the air, throw cars at people and much more available as you upgrade your stats. This super hero-action is a tonne of fun and really lets Crackdown 2 stand out from the competition.


Crackdown 2 is not a game you are going to show off for it's stunning looks. The graphics are average at best, but somehow they work well with this game. The city is huge and as a result many of the buildings around the world are lacking those personal features that would take this game to the next level. Many buildings are trademarks around the city and stand out particularly for those who played the original. Pacific City is basically the same city from Crackdown, but the freaks and terrorists have taken their toll on the overall upkeep. This game is dirtier than before with many buildings falling apart and often over run with freaks.

Explosions are a big part of the Crackdown environment. The large array of weapons at your disposal and the common placement of items that are just waiting to blow up make this a large minefield. The explosions look decent, but because of the cities limitations we don't have a destructible environment. It would be nice to see, but realistically it is for our own good. I can imagine people getting extremely frustrated if they blew out the side of a building and were then unable to collect an orb on top.

Some of the sames issues from the predecessor have cropped up again in this game. Locking your aim with the gun has improved for me as I found it easier to lock onto the bad guy I wanted to. The melee animations are still borderline awful and do not look good at all. It looks like your agent is having a fit while killing a freak or terrorist at the same time. One thing that has certainly improved however is all the menus and text that appears on the screen. The game now looks more professional and I prefer the enhanced layout.

Crackdown is one of my favourite games to play with the sound on. Unlike most experiences where the sound effects blow me away, it is the sergeant giving you instructions and tips who defines this game. The voice over man is someone any girl would die for with the voice of an absolute hero. Whenever you get an achievement or do well he will pipe up and give you encouragement. This light-hearted approach to the game works extremely well and I love the voice overs. Voice over aside, the explosions and gun shots in Crackdown do sound nice, but aren't overly spectacular.


Let's get this straight, Crackdown 2 is a fun game if you can accept that this won't give you the intense story of Grand Theft Auto or related games. In the beginning of the game the cool voice over man explains the situation for your knowledge, before setting you out on a tutorial to the game. Pacific City has had a devastating plague which has affected many people who conveniently turned into big freaks. This has thrown the city into turmoil and a terrorist group called The Cell has attempted to take over what's left of the mess. Surprise surprise, it is up to you to save the day with your superhuman abilities.

You main objective is to activate beacons all around the city to stop The Cell. As you progress through the game though you will need to find orbs to upgrade your skills to keep one jump ahead of your enemies. Exploration is the real key to Crackdown 2 and is the only thing that keeps the whole game from being a real drag to play. If you don't explore every nook and cranny of this huge city you will really miss out on all the small joys to be found.

Along the way you will come across various side missions such as road or rooftop races that reward you with much needed stats. These aren't the greatest or most original side quests I have ever faced but are nice for mixing up the orb collecting for a while. A lot of different vehicles are found in Pacific City including some hard to reach helicopters that have some devastating rockets attached. There is a lot to be found outside of the main story that will entertain you and is the second best area of this game.

The largest improvement in this sequel is the ability to play through the game with friends. The game is twice as good now that we can play in our own game with up to 3 other players over Live. We also have the ability to join someone elses world and help them collect Co-Op only Orbs and just have all-round killing fun. I thought I would miss out on a big part of the game if no one I knew bought Crackdown 2, but anyone can join your world and help out as long as you allow it. This game be a great way to meet people who have are experts at the game and can help you out, but some annoying players may try and hinder you which can get frustrating.


Crackdown 2 is an interesting game. Not everyone will be able to enjoy the lack of a fulfilling story, but those who do will be able to appreciate Pacific City. It is nice to be the good guy saving the day, instead of the bad guy creating havoc. Real Time World has done well to continue on with the differences that make the original so popular, but I feel like it doesn't throw in enough new features.

If you loved the original, Crackdown 2 will bring a sense of nostalgia as you revisit the once bright Pacific City. First time buyers should really consider this title if money isn't a problem because it just offers more than the original. Multiplayer was a bright point for me and sharing the experience with friends or strangers is rewarding and lengthens the experience. Crackdown 2 isn't the shock game we received last time, so people were probably expecting more this time. I don't believe that we have gotten everything we could have hoped for, but it is still a nice title.

Graphics - 5.5/10
Sound - 9/10
Gameplay - 7/10
Overall - 7/10

Friday, July 2, 2010


Our aim is to provide detailed reviews of all genres of Xbox 360 and Xbox Live Arcade titles.

To contact us to get your game reviewed or to discuss potential advertising oppurtunities please email:

Thanks for visiting 360 Degree Reviews.

Welcome to 360 Degree Gaming

360 Degree Gaming, Coming in August 2010.

This site will strive to deliver informative reviews of all the latest and greatest Xbox 360 titles available. Thank you for visiting and stay tuned for more information of our release.

For now check out our iPhone Game Review site - iPhone Reviews 2.0